Welcome to the Court of Common Pleas

The Court of Common Pleas is a court of general jurisdiction hearing a wide variety of matters including:

  • criminal cases
  • civil cases
  • family-law issues
  • estate matters
  • and juvenile court matters

Because the Court touches the lives of so many in so many ways, it is considered the cornerstone of the community. The Court of Common Pleas is proud of its work and the dedication of its employees.

Indiana, Armstrong, Cambria, and Westmoreland Counties formed the Tenth Judicial District. The Honorable John Young, Greensburg, Westmoreland County, presided over the first term in December of 1806. Later, in 1874, the Legislature caused Indiana County to become a separate judicial district, the Fortieth Judicial District. In the fall of 1874, Judge John P. Blair was elected as judge and served until January, 1855. Since that time, the Court has rendered thousands of opinions and decisions having a direct impact on the citizens of Indiana County.​


 Contact Information


The Judges of the Court

  • President Judge
    The Honorable William J. Martin
    Phone: (724)465-3961
  • Judge
    The Honorable Thomas M. Bianco
    Phone: (724)465-3958

Indiana County Courthouse
fourth floor​
825 Philadelphia Street
Indiana, PA 15701​